Menu Close

What is the popular understanding of the Biblical judgments?

The following list which I think describes the more popular view is taken from GotQuestions:

Judgments that have already occurred:

  1. The judgment of Adam and Eve: God banished the first couple from the Garden of Eden for violating His clear command not to eat the fruit of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.
  2. The judgment of the antediluvian world: God sent a worldwide flood in judgment of mankind’s sin in Noah’s time.
  3. The judgment at the Tower of Babel: Noah’s post-flood descendants remained in one location in defiance of God’s command.
  4. The judgment of Egypt and their gods: The ten plagues against Egypt
  5. The judgment of believers’ sins: Jesus took this judgment upon Himself by His crucifixion and death.

Judgments occurring now in the church age:

  1. Self-evaluation: Believers practice self-examination
  2. Divine discipline: As a father lovingly corrects his children, so the Lord disciplines His own

Judgments to occur in the future:

  1. The judgments of the tribulation period: These terrible judgments are pictured as seven seals opened, seven trumpets blown, and seven bowls poured out.
  2. The judgment seat of Christ:
    1. Resurrected (and raptured) believers in heaven will be judged for their works. 
    2. Sin is not in view at this judgment, as that was paid for by Christ, but only faithfulness in Christian service. 
    3. Selfish works or those done with wrong motives will be burned up (the “wood, hay, and stubble” of 1 Corinthians 3:12). 
    4. Works of lasting value to the Lord will survive (the “gold, silver, and precious stones”). Rewards, which the Bible calls “crowns” (Revelation 3:11) will be given by the One who is “not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him” (Hebrews 6:10).
  3. The judgment of the nations (Sheep and the goats).
    1. After the tribulation, the Lord Jesus will sit in judgment over the Gentile nations.
    2. They will be judged according to their treatment of Israel during the tribulation.
    3. This judgment is also called the judgment of the sheep and the goats because of the imagery Jesus uses in the Olivet Discourse. Those who showed faith in God by treating Israel favorably (giving them aid and comfort during the tribulation) are the “sheep” who will enter into the Millennial Kingdom.
    4. Those who followed the Antichrist’s lead and persecuted Israel are the “goats” who will be consigned to hell.
  4. The judgment of angels: Paul says that Christians will judge angels.
  5. The Great White Throne Judgment: This final judgment of unbelievers for their sins occurs at the end of the Millennium, before the creation of the new heaven and earth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts